talk to a divorce lawyer now

What are the 7 stages of divorce in India?

Here's Why Divorce Rates Peak in August

Divorce in India often progresses through 7 distinct emotional and legal stages as couples terminate their marriage. Understanding these 7 stages of divorce in India can help couples navigate this difficult transition with realistic expectations.

1. Contemplation

In the contemplation stage of divorce in India, one spouse privately considers divorce as a solution to an unhappy marriage. They may make subtle changes like working late more often or taking solo trips as they contemplate the upheaval divorce would cause. For example, Rahul began contemplating divorce after years of feeling neglected by his wife Priya. He got his own apartment “for work” and began consulting with lawyers.

2. Decision

At this stage of divorce in India, one partner firmly decides they want to get divorced. There is no going back. They plan logistics like finances, living arrangements, and custody. For instance, after months of contemplation, Priya decided there was no way to fix her marriage with Rahul. She spoke to a lawyer and asked family to help with childcare during the divorce.

3. Disclosure

In the disclosure stage of divorce in India, the spouse wanting the divorce reveals this to their partner, often shocking them. The other spouse reacts with intense emotions like refusal to accept it. For example, Rahul was stunned and angry when Priya stated she was filing for divorce after 15 years of marriage. He begged her to reconsider.

4. Negotiation

During the negotiation stage of divorce in India, the couple negotiates the terms of their divorce through their lawyers. This includes finances, child custody, and property division. There are often bitter disputes and concessions. For instance, Rahul and Priya argued intensely over custody of their two children during divorce negotiations.

See also  Supreme Court of India Judgment Analysis - M/s Ecom Gill Coffee Trading Pvt Ltd v/s State of Karnataka

5. Legal Process

In this stage of divorce in India, the case enters the formal legal system. The couple must be separated for at least a year before the court will grant divorce. Legal disputes may continue throughout the process. Rahul and Priya lived apart for 18 months as lawyers filed motions and counter-motions related to the divorce petition.

6. Final Decree

The final decree stage of divorce in India comes when the court formally grants the divorce after verifying all legal requirements are met. The couple is now officially divorced. Rahul and Priya’s divorce decree was finally granted after a lengthy legal battle.

7. Adjustment

In the adjustment stage of divorce in India, the individuals transition into single life post-divorce. This involves emotional, logistical, and financial changes as they establish new normals. Rahul struggled with loneliness and dating after his divorce. Priya adjusted by focusing on caring for the children as a single mom.

In summary, understanding the 7 stages of divorce in India can help couples realistically navigate terminating their marriage, from contemplation through post-divorce adjustment. Recognizing the timeline and emotions at each stage allows better preparation and management of this difficult transition.

Scroll to Top